Jennifer Brown’s Perfect Escape

Review – Perfect Escape by Jennifer Brown

New Image

 The only way Kendra can stand out next to her brother Grayson (suffering from OCD) is to be perfect, and she has perfection down to an art — until a school scandal threatens her flawless reputation. Behind the wheel of her car, with Grayson asleep beside her, Kendra decides to drive away from it all — maybe with enough distance she’ll be able to figure everything out.

Perfect Escape is the story of what happens when all of a sudden, everything becomes too much and driving away seems to be the only option. Kendra has been caught in the midst of a cheating scandal which threatens her college future. Her older brother Grayson suffers from debilitating OCD. He’s just released from his last stint in hospital when the book starts.

I love Jennifer Brown; I think her novels are all very well done, especially Hate List. I loved the premise of this, and it didn’t disappoint too much. Brown writes Grayson’s OCD with a realistic style that can only be applauded. Kendra’s feelings towards her brother are ever-changing but I think that’s fitting to the story itself – everything is changing around the siblings.

Rena is an addition to the story that I enjoyed reading a lot. Maybe her arc was a little predictable, but I don’t think that subtracted from the way she was written. Her character added something that the book really needed – humor. Kendra tries to make jokes with Grayson, but it’s not until Rena is introduced that the laughter comes. She’s a good example of comic relief in a book that could easily be very heavy with the topics it looks at.

I took my time reading this book for reasons that I can only put down to the fact that I was never really enthralled. It’s not a fast-paced novel and I wasn’t expecting that, but I still felt like it was just a bit too slow and repetitive for my personal taste.

The overall plot is quite realistic, I thought. I can imagine this happening to someone in everyday life. The ending was not what I expected which I was happy about. All in all, not a bad read, but it’s got nothing on Hate List.

Rating: ★★★

My question to you: If you could travel to anywhere in the world right now, regardless of cost or other external factors, where would you go and why?

One thought on “Jennifer Brown’s Perfect Escape

Leave a Reply

