Glee-ful Ramble

This post is on something that I love with my whole heart, but that many people don’t. It is, of course, Glee.

100th celebration party

Ryan Murphy, Ian Brennan and Brad Falchuk’s musical comedy hit its one hundredth episode last night, with over six hundred musical performances in that time. It marks the end of the ‘choir room’ and the disbanding of New Directions, the show choir that Glee is based around. Yes, it feels completely like the end of an era and it’s kinda heart-breaking. I’ve been a fan of Glee since the very beginning, and I have been through some amazing storylines, and some admittedly not fantastic ones. Nevertheless, there’s something about this show that makes me smile, no matter what mood I’m in.

My love affair with Glee has affected my life in both positive and negative ways. I set an alarm for 3am the day it’s aired to watch the new episode before I go to school. I’ve even done this on important exam days (don’t worry, I did fine). Unsurprisingly, my Mum is very much unaware of this habit. Another (not so) negative consequence is the ridiculously talented cast that make it impossible to not get a teeny-weeny bit obsessed. Darren Criss, with his music and A Very Potter Musical roots. Chris Colfer, with his books and movie.

On the other hand, I spoke about Glee for my English Language grade last year, and got very high marks. Throughout rubbish days at school and arguments at home, I always knew that I could watch Glee to make me smile. I looked forward to downloading the new songs, watching the new episodes, whatever. No matter what, I laughed, I smiled, I felt better after losing myself in the antics of those crazy New Directions kids. It’s my escapism.

By its very definition, Glee is about opening yourself up to joy.

I get that people hate Glee. I understand why adults think it’s stupid; as a fan, I often shake my head at some of the decisions made. Characters disappear with no explanation and the continuity is shocking. (I do really love it when the characters point this out, though. Way to break the fourth wall.) But at the core, it’s a show about underdogs, about the people who aren’t supposed to make it, making it. It’s about the lives of teenagers and how extremely different we all are from each other. It’s realistic (okay, maybe not the random musical numbers), and it deals with some hard hitting topics that are often overlooked. Teen pregnancy, suicide, discrimination, transgender people, rape, Down’s syndrome, school shootings. The list goes on, and on, and on. Glee raises awareness about issues that teens need to understand and it does so in a way that isn’t patronizing.

Don’t lose track of who you are just because it might be easier to be somebody else.

The one hundredth episode reunited familiar faces with the newbies, and was a joyous celebration of the fact that a silly singing show has reached one hundred entire episodes. However, the missing presence of Cory Monteith was not ignored. After his shocking and upsetting death in July 2013, Glee has done everything possible to ensure his memory, and his character Finn, are never forgotten. The latest Nationals episode features his favorite songs and a montage of his best on-screen moments. These nostalgic additions are done tastefully, and they never fail to bring a tear to my eye.

early days

Way back when…

I’m not sure what I’m trying to say here – whether this is a PSA to tell you that Glee is not as awful as people make it out to be, or a ramble about how passionate I am about it, I don’t know. But whatever it is, and whatever people may say, I love Glee, and the day it ends will sadden me deeply.

6 thoughts on “Glee-ful Ramble

  1. I’m going to be forty in December and I am not ashamed to admit that I Love Glee. You just want to sing when you watch it. Who can hate a show that makes you want to sing? I’m so glad to see Brittany back in the new episode. She’s pretty much my favorite character, and she can dance like crazy, so it was kind of hard to go through so many episodes without her, but it’s all good now. Love the new episode.

    • That’s awesome! My 52 year old Mum and 75 year old Grandma both love it. I guess it brings universal joy! I’m so happy that you got your favorite character back! Blaine’s my favorite, hehe. I’m happy you liked “100”. (:

  2. I am pleased to announce that you have been awarded the Shauny Award for Blogging Excellence! 🙂

    Here’s how you collect your prize.

    1) Follow the link: http://westutterandwedontcare.wordpress.com/awardsnominations/
    2) Copy and paste the image into a post and make a list.
    3) Once posted then send a comment to the bloggers on your nominations list sharing the award.

    *Note I just followed the advice of the person who nominated us, since this is our first award.

    Warm Regards,
    James

Leave a Reply

